I can't figure out how to design normal patterns
Sevymama3
Skiller
Sevymama3
3 months ago by Sevymama3
I've been struggling for days and hours trying to figure out how to make a normal bracelet. Omgosh...I'm a professional graphic designer and know all the design programs but can't figure this out. 😄 I made an alpha just fine but I really think it would be more interesting as a normal pattern.
I've looked everywhere on this site, YouTube and online. No videos that explain how the program works. Maybe I can't grasp the "science" of it?
The problem I'm having is getting the top with just blue, and bringing the colors to the middle.
Can someone please make it? It's just a repeating firefly with a glowy flower and purple edges.
The alpha is in my alpha folder.
Thanks!
halokiwi
Super Moderator
halokiwi
3 months ago by halokiwi
I can't find the alpha pattern you are talking about. You have only posted variations so far, but no own patterns.
I recommend to either post the alpha pattern so others can see it or to set the alpha pattern as your profile picture temporaily.

To get started with normal patterns, I recommend
to start by drawing them on graph paper first https://www.braceletbook.com/tutorials/34_designing-normal-patterns/
or to start by just playing around with the interactive normal generator

Both should help you understand the structure of normal patterns better. What you want to do might not be possible.
Normals are a lot more limited than alphas. In alphas any knot can have any colour, but in normals you only have a limited amount of options.

Here is how the interactive normal generator works:
- select a colour you want to use by clicking on 'using color' or one of the colours in 'colors used' -> click at the beginning or end of the string you want to change to that colour
- click plus or minus to add or remove strings or rows
- click on the individual knots to change the knot type
halokiwi
Super Moderator
halokiwi
3 months ago by halokiwi