Things I Wish I Had Known Before I Made My First Alpha
Moosey
Bracelet King
Moosey
3 years, 10 months ago by Moosey
Hello hello! This thread is for anyone that is looking for tips/bits of info on starting alphas. I am by no means an expert so do not take my words as the Holy Bible of making alphas or anything like that. These are just things I wish I had known.

1.) Do NOT start out with a super big alpha. My first alpha was #42535 and I thankfully made it look decent. HOWEVER! I would absolutely not recommend doing a giant alpha like that first. Choose an alpha that has like 12 or less base strings and 4 or less colors. Additionally, I would not recommend one that has lots of color changes one knot after another.
2.) Your first alpha will probably take a long time. It's a learning process. My first alpha took me roughly eight hours (again, do not do a large pattern. I beg you.) and for some reason I thought it would be quicker? Just expect your first alpha to be a little time consuming as you learn the color switching technique.
3.) When doing the flat alpha technique (which is the technique I use and recommend) do NOT pull the strings in back too tight. When you switch colors, make sure you leave plenty of slack on the string you're bringing in. For example, if you are doing an alpha and you have not used brown for a few rows make the first half of the brown knot pretty loose to allow the string in back to do it's thing and truly lay flat. You can make the second half of the knot as tight as you normally do. On my first alpha there are a few spots on it that are bunched up even though I was using the flat alpha technique simply because I pulled the string in back too tight.