Alpha length
KntyKnight
Skiller
KntyKnight
1 month, 3 weeks ago by KntyKnight
What would be recommend base string length for a Alpha pattern that is 75x80?
halokiwi
Super Moderator
halokiwi
1 month, 3 weeks ago by halokiwi
Have you made an alpha before? If yes, you can measure how long a certain amount of rows is and use that to calculate how long 80 rows will be. Add some extra for loops, ties etc. The length needed depends on how tight you knot and which materials you use.
KntyKnight
Skiller
KntyKnight
Not really. I have never done anything big before. Only names and a few small keychains. I'm wanting to do a wall hanging with this pattern and would really like to get the length right before I jump into it lol. I use embroidery thread but not sure what other information about it I can give.
halokiwi
Super Moderator
halokiwi
It doesn't matter that you haven't done a big alpha before, as long as you have done small alphas before, that's all the information you need.

Could you do me a favour and measure how long ten rows are in one of your keychains? For 80 rows you need eight times what you need for ten rows and of course some extra for ties etc.
KntyKnight
Skiller
KntyKnight
Ten rows Measures a lil over 1 inch..
halokiwi
Super Moderator
halokiwi
Then you need a lil over 8 inches, let's do 9 and then some extra just to be save 🙂
KntyKnight
Skiller
KntyKnight
Thank you so much. Another quick question would I do 18 folded/knotted over my wall hanging stick?
halokiwi
Super Moderator
halokiwi
Yes, if you fold them, you need double the length

Also make sure that you have enough for the ties or whatever you want to do in the end
KntyKnight
Skiller
KntyKnight