Starting asymmetrical normal patterns
GreenGay
Professional
GreenGay
6 months, 2 weeks ago by GreenGay
I want to make #158305 but I can't figure out the best way to start it. I usually prefer loops or loops w/ triangle ends but I don't think I can because the colors aren't the same when you split the pattern in half, if that makes sense. Would a slanted half triangle end work or is there a better way? Thanks for your help, I'm new to using patterns without video tutorials along with them!
halokiwi
Super Moderator
halokiwi
6 months, 2 weeks ago by halokiwi
All colours have even amounts. For the ones that have more strings on one side, fold the string in half and pull a folded string from the other side through that loop.

MashaKnots' has a video on making loops with odd amounts of strings that you can check for a similar scenario. https://youtu.be/_IyGiKsjNJM
sodapop
Bracelet King
sodapop
6 months, 2 weeks ago by sodapop
I know of two basic ways to make a loop when the colors aren't mirrored on each side. There's an even number of each color in this pattern which will make it somewhat easier.

So if you want a regular loop with a triangle start, you can just fold all the strings in half, knot and form the loop as normal, then tie it together at the bottom with a square knot. Then all the colors will just be gathered together in one bundle, so you can divide the colors according to each side and form the triangle start.

For a teardrop, you can do like halokiwi suggested. I like to print the pattern so I can draw notes, match strings and single out the ones that don't have a match. For those, you still fold in half, but the center is looped around the center of another color on the opposite side. Masha Knots has made a newer video called a Linked Loop that explains the mechanics:
https://youtu.be/9LeOWwqFst0