String
ffullen
Beginner
ffullen
4 years, 2 months ago by ffullen
I am just starting out and would like to know what size and type of string or cord do we use to make any type of bracelet all help appreciated.
afc610
Bracelet King
afc610
4 years, 2 months ago by afc610
I use embroidery floss and the length really depends on the thickness of the bracelet. For a thicker one, you’ll want to use longer strings. For a thinner one you can use shorter strings👍🏼
afc610
Bracelet King
afc610
4 years, 2 months ago by afc610
That’s for a normal pattern btw
Someone_
Bracelet King
Someone_
4 years, 2 months ago by Someone_
The most popular thread people use to make friendship bracelets with is Embroidery Floss/Thread, which is basically six stranded cotton. Another popular choice is Pearle Cotton, which is like the Embroidery Floss but it's twisted so it makes it a little easier to handle; this comes in different sizes, size 5 is the same thickness as Embroidery Thread (or thereabouts).
Other choices include:
Craft Thread - Again, its twisted but unlike the previous two types I mentioned it's typically made out of synthetic fibres rather than cotton. It can also be cheaply made so it's prone to break easily.
Yarn - Which is much thicker, and it works reasonably well.
Crochet Thread - Which is good for saving money, as they last much longer. People tend to go for Size 5 in that.

I hope this helps somewhat.
And I would like to welcome you to the world of bracelet making! 😊❤️
emisstuff
Professional
emisstuff
4 years, 2 months ago by emisstuff
I would recommend embroidery thread. You can get it fairly cheap off of amazon and it comes in every color you could think of.
BunBunKnot
Professional
BunBunKnot
4 years, 2 months ago by BunBunKnot
For string, I usually make my strings a little shorter than my wingspan. But it always depends on the bracelet and how long it is. I hope this was helpful!
brr
Professional
brr
4 years, 2 months ago by brr