How do I end a bracelet and what are the right lengths?
CarriganB
Beginner
CarriganB
4 years, 4 months ago by CarriganB
Hi, I am very new to bracelet making and I have a couple of questions.

So I have a loop at the start of my bracelet (it is really simple and not one of the complicated ones) and I have finished my bracelet. How much string should I leave to finish a bracelet? I have seen people plait (braid) theirs and push it through the hole. After that, how do I secure it? Also, does it have to be braided or can I just leave it as string?

When starting a bracelet, what length should I use for each string? Mine keep coming out too short.

After U finish a bracelet and decide that I don’t want to wear it, how do I put it on later?

Sorry for bombarding, I just have no idea what I am doing
AriaKnots
Bracelet King
AriaKnots
4 years, 4 months ago by AriaKnots
Okay so you can braid your ties or twist them or just leave them as they are. You can tie the bracelet by pulling the tie through the loop and then tying it closed, I have found that most of the time you can untie the bracelet this way when you want to take it off. In answer to your last question on string length personally I prefer to have my string too long rather than to short so my string is about 100 in or about 8 ft if your going to fold them in half to do a simple loop. If your not doing a loop I do about 3 to 3 1/ feet long normally works, I know other people might have other opinions. String length really can depend on wrist size to. Hope this helps, and welcome to bracelet book.
Someone_
Bracelet King
Someone_
4 years, 4 months ago by Someone_
@AriaKnots Pretty much covered everything... But I would like to add that another way you could end your bracelets is with crimp ends, however you'll have to start with one too. That's just another way I like to sometimes start mine that I thought I would share.