How do you know how much string to use?
abeye7
Advanced
abeye7
3 years, 8 months ago by abeye7
Hello, beginner here!
How do you know how much string to use for a given project? How do you maneuver through a pattern with a large amount of string?
Thanks!
Nicole_E
Skiller
Nicole_E
3 years, 8 months ago by Nicole_E
The pattern says how many strings something is, if its an alpha then subtract one string from the total and that's the number of base strings, if your talking about the length of string then I usually do an arms width, if your talking about alphas with lots of string I usually just use string winded up in a spindle and unwind when needed, if I've misunderstood sorry,if you have any other questions feel free to ask,
Basilology
Bracelet King
Basilology
3 years, 8 months ago by Basilology
Usually I cut my strings this much-

String that makes the loop- 2 meters and 6 inches
Bracelet with loop- 2 meters
Bracelet without loop- 1 meter
Alpha base string without loop- 1 meter (I like to be safe)
Alpha base string with loop- 2 meters
Alpha leading string- 1 meter (you can always add more)

Sometimes, you would see a normal pattern with a bunch of knots with one color. Here are some examples-

#31368 (black color) and #35326 (cream color).

If you ever run across one of those patterns, I would add at the most 1 meter. It's okay if you run out of string. Even in a normal pattern, you can add more string. Alex's Innovations has a tutorial on that on Youtube. Search "How to replace broken strings".

Hopes this helps!
srhamy28
Bracelet King
srhamy28
3 years, 8 months ago by srhamy28